Saint Brigid Religious Education
100 Mayflower Street
West Hartford, CT 06110

Stations of The Cross

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus receives the Cross
  3. Jesus falls for the first time beneath the Cross
  4. Jesus meets His Mother
  5. Simon of Cyrene bears the Cross
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  7. Jesus falls for the second time
  1. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  2. Jesus falls for the third time
  3. Jesus is stripped of His garments
  4. Jesus is nailed to the Cross
  5. Jesus dies on the Cross
  6. Jesus is taken down from the Cross
  7. The body of Jesus is laid in the Sepulchre

Where did the idea of the Stations of the Cross come from? After Jesus died and rose from the dead, many people reflected upon his passion and death. They began to make visits to Jerusalem and walk in the footsteps of Jesus. The street Jesus walked is still called Via Dolorosa, the way of pain. People would stop along the way and remember what had happened to Jesus. It is likely that they marked the places for those who came after them to follow as well. These people became known as "pilgrims."

As Christianity spread throughout the known world, distance made it nearly impossible for people to make the trip to Jerusalem. That didn't stop their need to know and remember. By the twelfth century the fervor of the Crusades and a heightened devotion to the Passion of Jesus created a demand in Europe for representations of the last events in the life of Jesus.

When the Franciscans took over the custody of the shrines in the Holy Land in 1342, they saw it as their mission to encourage devotion to these places. In Western Europe a series of shrines erected to help the faithful remember Christ's passion became commonplace. They were erected outside Churches and monasteries and in other places as well. For many years there was a considerable variety in the number and title of these "stations." The number that is now usual, of fourteen, first appeared in the Low Countries in the sixteenth century and became standard in the eighteenth century.

The chief promoter of this devotion was Leonard of Port Maurice, a Franciscan, who died in 1751. He set up more than five hundred sets of stations, the best known being in the Coliseum of Rome.

Modern liturgists have emphasized that devotion to the Passion is incomplete without special reference to the Resurrection and have thus promoted the addition of a fifteenth station, the Resurrection of Jesus. There are varieties of readings, meditations and prayers that may be used by those who visit the Stations as an act of worship.

News & Events ~ Closings & Vacations ~ Calendars ~ Our CCD Staff ~ Guidelines, Policies & Registration
 Protecting God's Children ~ Mission Statement & Curriculum ~ Our Church ~ Children's Mass
First Penance & First Communion ~ Confirmation ~ Birthdays! ~ Prayers ~ The Beatitudes ~ Sacraments ~ Who Is St. Brigid
The Rosary, Scapular and Medals ~ The Ten Commandments ~ The Apostles ~ List of Popes
Saints of the Liturgical Calendar ~ Holy Days of Obligation ~ Stations of The Cross ~ Contact Us ~ Home